Welcome
CV
Projects
  NFSNET
  Harp
  Reviews
  Big Brother
  Generate
  Recover
  SpamKills
    AllHosts
    SomeHosts
    ATT
    mediaconnect
    Vibora
    Fake AOL
    AOL
    hotmail
    EarthLink
    Justresults
    Savvis
    vienna.at
    USONET
    ABANET
    wpcd
    210.141.105.98
    199.171.54.114
  WINE
  Merchandise
  SimThrow
Interests
Links
Statistics
About

The SPAM

Received: from mail.wpcd.com (host-01.wpcd.com [209.166.176.66] (may be forged))
        by phister.iaeste.dtu.dk (8.9.3/8.9.3) with SMTP id PAA21715
        for <henrik@iaeste.dk>; Sat, 15 Apr 2000 15:50:21 +0200
Date: Sat, 15 Apr 2000 15:50:21 +0200
Message-Id: <200004151350.PAA21715@phister.iaeste.dtu.dk>
Received: from lnzaneloc0 [171.218.198.4] by mail.wpcd.com
  (SMTPD32-4.06) id A9264670198; Fri, 14 Apr 2000 18:18:14 DT
To: lnzaneloc0@aol.com

lgersson@lucs.lu.se, jens.holst@hff.gu.se, jens.jung@hmh.slu.se, hans.lehmannr@dlr.de,
hans.michelbach@bundestag.de, hans.nordhaug@mi.uib.no, hans.ostblom@pacer.se,
hans.peter.schmitz@bundestag.de, hans.raidel@bundestag.de, hans.westman@viatek.fi,
jens10@eirene.dricas.com, jans@bradleyacademy.net, fcns@direct.ca, dans@formway.co.nz,
hans@nanaimo.ark.com, hans@psionvereniging.nl, hans@reklamkompaniet.se, consa@din.or.jp,
munsaka@mast.queensu.ca, kansalaisopisto@mantsala.fi, gonsar@rabten.com, tinsar@startco
m.au, junsato@elcom.nitech.ac.jp, kensbowl@ctel.net, lenscap@lava.net,
hanschu23@yahoo.com,
ianscott@cpd.co.uk, ainscoum@tcd.ie, gcnscrksivv@ehuvhlf.ve
From: <7lcx@wpcd.com>
Subject: DISTRIBUTOR
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=unknown-8bit
content-length: 7581
Date: Sat, 15 Apr 100 09:47:25 DT

<Spam content removed for brevity>

My complaint about the open relay.

		
Date: Sat, 15 Apr 2000 18:44:49 +0200 (CEST)
From: Henrik Olsen <henrik@iaeste.dk>
To: abuse@wpcd.com, postmaster@wpcd.com
Bcc: henrik@iaeste.dk
Subject: Spam mail forwarded by your mailhost.

Sirs,

As you can see from the included mail, your host mail.wpcd.com
[209.166.176.66] is an open mail relay, and has been used for spamming the
internet with unwanted commercial email.

Please take steps to restrict your SMTP servers against use by
unauthorized third parties as a spam-relay. You can find information
regarding securing open SMTP relays at
http://mail-abuse.org/tsi/ar-fix.html.

You should also be aware that in the absence of concrete plans to
restrict this relay, I will be nominating your server for inclusion
in the RBL (Realtime Blackhole List), which mail admins and end-users
use to block all e-mail from proven spam sources and
spam-facilitating servers. For more information on the RBL, see:
http://mail-abuse.org/rbl/

Please feel free to contact me regarding your plans for the open
relay.

--
Henrik Olsen,  Dawn Solutions I/S       URL=http://www.iaeste.dk/~henrik/

---------- Forwarded message ----------
<Removed for brevity>

My complaint about the originator of the mail.

		
Date: Sat, 15 Apr 2000 19:25:25 +0200 (CEST)
From: Henrik Olsen <henrik@iaeste.dk>
To: tosemail1@aol.com
Subject: Spam mail from one of your cursomers

Sirs,

As you can see, one of your machines ABDAC604.ipt.aol.com (171.218.198.4)
have abused host-01.wpcd.com, an open mail relay, to spam the internet.

Please take appropriate action.
---------- Forwarded message ----------
<Removed for brevity>
This one got me the standard autoresponse.

RBL

I didn't get anything from wpcd, so upped the ante with the following:
Date: Sun, 23 Apr 2000 23:10:27 +0200 (CEST)
From: Henrik Olsen <henrik@iaeste.dk>
To: rbl@mail-abuse.org
Subject: Nomination of [209.166.176.66]

I would like to nominate [209.166.176.66] for the RBL, as they have done
nothing to close their relay, and haven't attempted to contact me since I
mailed the enclosed message to them.

They where already listed in ORBS at the time of the spam incident, and
had been known there for several months which to me indicates they don't
care at all.

--
Henrik Olsen,  Dawn Solutions I/S       URL=http://www.iaeste.dk/~henrik/

---------- Forwarded message ----------
<Removed for brevity>
The host is now in RBL.
Last Update: Sat, 28 Feb 2004